This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GSamF
    • Mar 2004

B&W, DAC's, and other comparison questions with 1068 vs 1098 and 1075 vs 1095

I found this forum about a week ago and I don't know if I should thank you or chastize you for getting me back into the game of "upgraditis". A lot of good information here. Thank you. I apologize in advance for the length of this message. I have looked through a lot of the other threads but still have questions. My questions follow,

My story: I have the B&W 804's with the Sony S9000es dvd/cd player and an old Denon 80w receiver. I listen to music 60% and home theater 40%. I, of course, would like (before listening) the 1095 and 1098 but price constraints forbid me to purchase now. However, I can afford the 1068 and 1075 maybe 1095. My dealer does not have a trade up policy. I am not that experienced about gear and techs but unfortunately I know enough to get me in trouble. So I need help!

I hear that the Rotel's have a warm sound and mate well with the brighter 804's (love the sound, but wouldn't mind taming them a bit). I like a large soundstage and keeping with the clarity and trueness to the instruments the 804's are known for. Anyone have experience with B&W's and Rotel mix and if so how do they sound?

I spoke with my usually very knowledgable Rotel dealer and he said the DAC's are different on the 1068 vs the 1098 but I found one if not two threads saying they were the same. Is there a difference in DAC's? Should I be concerned about another criteria more?

Another concern is the 1075 vs 1095. I know my speakers are power hungry. I am concerned that the 120w (although they are Rotel watts) won't be enough to power my 804's and especially when I upgrade my center to a B&W HTM1. Has anyone done a side by side and did you notice a minor or huge difference?