X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Britchie
    • Nov 2003

Buzz from tweeters?..Possible Cause?

As a new owner of Rotel gear I am quickly becoming very passionate about getting the best possible performance from my new system (1098 w/1095). I choose not to call myself an audiophile since I am a novice and still have a lot to learn.

Anyway, enough about me, the point of this post is that I am noticing a buzz from the tweeters on my speakers. It is even there when the volume is all the way down. It is present on all the sources. All of the other drivers in the speakers are silent. It is definatley a buzz, not a hiss that I hear from 3-4 inches away.

I have clean power. what could cause this?

Speaker Wires? I use run of the mill monster cable from best buy.

Interconnects? I have Tara labs...The dealer gave these to me with the purchase so I assume they are probably the low end variety.

A setting/installation error?

The infamous "defective?" 1095 amps that others have posted about on this forum.

Any advice on where to start troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated.

BTW...The speakers are Infinity IL60 front, IL-36 Center, Def Tech BPIWAZ Rears.

Thanks,

Brad
  • SpOoNmAn
    • Sep 2003

A buzz? Or a quiet hiss? I have a very faint hiss, but only if my ears are directly next to tweeters. How loud is it? Do you hear this from say 3 to 4 inches away? 3 to 4 feet away? We need more details.

Life is short, Play it LOUD!

Theatre Photo Album (A work in Progress)
    GameTracker -My List-
    Life is short, Play it LOUD!

Comment

• art vandeleigh
      • Oct 2003

how loud is the buzz? is there a buzz even without any input from the CD player? or is there buzz only when you are getting some kind of input. it could just be backgroud noise from a bad recording.