X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • corysmith01
    • Feb 2005

Question about adding rotel to existing receiver

Hi-

I'm fairly new to ht and have made a fair number of purchases lately. In doing research and becoming more familiar with the hobby, I've decided that I'd like to move to seperates. I can't afford to do it all at once, so I'd like to buy them one at a time. I currently have a Marantz SR8400 receiver that has preouts for adding a power amp. This receiver is rated at 110W per chan. I was looking to add a 2 channel amp first off and use the receiver to power the other channels. I listen to a lot of music, so this seemed logical...to get better sound on the front 2 first. A friend was telling me about the Rotel RB-1050 and saying that, considering my limited budget, that this would be a killer addition. However, I'm looking at the specs and seeing it's 70W per channel. He told me not to worry, that receiver are often rated generously and that 70W from a dedicated amp would seem like more power than the 110 from my receiver. I'd like to buy this amp, but I want to make sure I'm not taking a step backwards. Can anyone elaborate on this? Is is true that the 70W dedicated up front would be substantially better than the 115 my receiver's currently sending? Considering I have a limited budget, does this seem like a good place to start? I look forward to any input from some Rotel afficianados. Thanks!
  • gianni
    • Nov 2002

It really depends on your system: speaker sensitivity, are they full range or crossed over with a sub, music you listen to and your room.

Your friend is basically correct but since your Marantz does have decent amplification I would think an RB-1070 at a minimum or a RB-1080 depending on your long term goals will yield a more noticeable improvement.

I promise you by tomorrow many others on this forum who have done this will chime in. Stay tuned. Also, you can search this forum as this has been discussed before.