X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • prebles
    • Jan 2005

Newbie Needs Help

I'm a newbie just starting to look at HT. I have two questions that I hope aren't too dumb.

1. As a general rule, will a new DVD player (even an inexpensive middle-tier one) tend to produce better CD performance than my 1992 Rotel CD player just by virtue of 13 years of general technology improvements?

2. I'll soon be listening to the Rotel 1056 and the Pioneer Elite 56TXi in my receiver search. My understanding is that the Pioneer, with its 7 channels, will allow me to bi-amp my Vandersteen 2Ci left/right speakers. Is it correct that I cannot bi-amp with the 1056? If so, any opinions on the 2-channel performance of the Vandy's with the 1056 vs. the bi-amped 56TXi?

Thanks in advance.
  • simonb68
    • Jan 2003

Originally posted by prebles
    1. As a general rule, will a new DVD player (even an inexpensive middle-tier one) tend to produce better CD performance than my 1992 Rotel CD player just by virtue of 13 years of general technology improvements?
    This may be true but I wouldn't say it's a general rule, 2ch audio performance of modern equally priced DVD players differs to a fair degree. It will also depend on whether you use the DACs in the player or whatever pre-amp you are using - the difference between a poor and a good 2ch DVD player will be markedly less when a good pre-amp is used (possibly a generalisation, but I think mostly true).

Conclusion - demo your CD player against any contender for its replacement

Originally posted by prebles
    2. I'll soon be listening to the Rotel 1056 and the Pioneer Elite 56TXi in my receiver search. My understanding is that the Pioneer, with its 7 channels, will allow me to bi-amp my Vandersteen 2Ci left/right speakers. Is it correct that I cannot bi-amp with the 1056? If so, any opinions on the 2-channel performance of the Vandy's with the 1056 vs. the bi-amped 56TXi?