X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sithlord10
    • Apr 2003

Buzzing sound from speakers

Hi I currently have a buzzing sound coming from my 5 speakers which are hooked up to my Rotel 1095 amp. The sound is only coming out of the tweeters and not from the main speaker cones. I'm currently using an M&K S-5000 THX speaker setup with tara labs speaker cable and interconnects as well as a power conditioner. I have 2 other speakers for the EX channels connected to my Denon receiver and there is no buzzing sound. If any one has any suggestions on how to get rid of this problem I am open to ideas and solutions. Thanks
  • Danbry39
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Sep 2002

Hum or buzzing can emanate from a large number of things, so locating what it is is sometimes an epic journey. I’m not an electrical engineer, so hopefully others will add their input.

First of all, do you have cable TV or satellite hooked up to your HT? What about other things that share the same circuit like refrigerators or dimmer switches? How long has the problem been going on? Anything new to the circuit at about the time this happened? Have you tried moving around your cables to see if this influences the noise? If possible, see if moving your audio cables so that they are separated from the power cords. Finally, try unplugging everything, then plugging them back in individually to see if any of them introduces the hum.

Tracing this type of problem can be extremely frustrating. Hopefully this will help trace what's causing the noise.

But I still hope someone who has experienced the problem firsthand or is more knowing than I will respond to this thread.

Keith
    Keith

Comment

• Sithlord10
      • Apr 2003