X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Skidoo161
    • May 2009

ASW500 Problems (pics)

Hi guys!!

Well this is my first post so I guess I should just say you guys have a great looking forum here, I really dig it.

So here is the scoop, I am a poor college student fighting the good fight. I was at a garage sale one day and spot this FREE B&W ASW500. The guy said it was broken, so I snatched it up. Opened it up to find that the original B&W speaker was shot (the cone was torn from the voice coil plus the speaker read infinite ohms). So in the mean time I opened up the amp. I immediatly noticed a charred portion on the middle of the circuit board. I was sadened, but I had a spare car audio subwoofer, I hooked this subwoofer to the B&W amp and it worked it made sound. Well it wasn't very good sound because the car subwoofer was partly fried. So I went to the store and bought a fairly cheap pioneer subwoofer (again this is car audio). I installed this pioneer sub and bam we had base!!!!
    Next I tried hooking up more speaker to the sub so I could get the top half of the sound!! When I tried this it was a no go... again I was sad.
    I knew the sub made great bass sound so I hooked up the subwoofer to a friends sound system. It worked good, except we couldn't dampen my sub it was SO powerful the small cheap speakers he had wouldn't put out enough! lol lol :W . We listen to the music for about 10 minutes then I went to the B&W to adjust the volume knob on the back, but the sub just stopped!!!!! I tried various different sources of audio but it won't make any sound now!!! I think the amp circuit died, because a signal from my laptop into the back yeilds the most faint amount of sound imaginable. But I am serious when I say faint, I'm not even sure if it really is making moise.
    Attached are some pics...

Ok so my questions are
    What do you guys think caused the subwoofer to just stop?