How to pair 805s with PV1 for music and movie?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lukeyeh
    • Aug 2007

How to pair 805s with PV1 for music and movie?

I am new to HT and HT Receivers. I have always been using stereo for music and no HT system. Now I have a Rotel RSX1067, 805s and pv1. I use the system for both classical music and movies. I am wondering what crossover number to use (i.e. 60, 80, ..) and how loud do I set it at the back of the PV1. My room is about 18 x 15 feet.
  • Briz vegas
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

1. It ain't a crossover (I got told off for using that term by a tech about a month ago) - its a low pass filter (LPF).

2. PV1 LPF only works on high level connection (telephone like wires that came with the PV1). If you use the low level connection you adjust the subs LPF frequency on the receiver. If you set the sub to 80hz on the receiver (I believe this is the THX standard) the 805 will get the signal above 80hz, the sub will get the part of the signal below that (the .1 in 5.1). Remember that only the lowest of frequencies are difficult to locate - setting the LPF higher will impact on stereo performance - ie set it as low as possible.

3. If you are using the "high level" connection the 805 will typicaly still be getting the full range signal with this option. I used to set my sub LPF to the -3db roll off of my main speakers (38hz for me - 45 hz in your case) - this minimises the part of the audio band received by both the sub and the 805.