X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • szap
    • Jul 2007

Bought B&W 686, Need amp advice

I've been wanting to put together my first nice stereo setup for awhile now and I just recently decided to get started on it. After auditioning a few different types of speakers I settled on a pair of the new B&W 686.

For now, I will have these setup in my bedroom. Before I can do that, I need to purchase an amp. I would like to try and stay within a budget of $500 for the amp. The salesman at the store I purchased the speakers from recommended a Rotel amp or a Marantz stereo receiver. Since I'm new to all of this I figured I'd come online and see what some owners of B&Ws recommend. Can you suggest any amps that would fall within my budget and pair well with the B&W 686? I would greatly appreciate your help.
  • Alaric
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

I have a Marantz PM7200 integrated and am very happy with the bang/buck ratio. Rotel would be a step up , and will cost accordingly.
    Lee

Marantz PM7200-RIP
    Marantz PM-KI Pearl
    Schiit Modi 3
    Marantz CD5005
    Paradigm Studio 60 v.3

Comment

• bigburner
      Super Senior Member
      • May 2005

Hi szap,

Welcome to the HTGuide Forum!

Your 686 speakers are rated at 25 watts - 100 watts into 8Ω on unclipped programme. The general rule in order to get the best out of speakers is to look for an amplifier at the high end of the range, i.e. 100 watts per channel into 8Ω.

The sensitivity of your 686 speakers is rated at 84dB spl (2.83V, 1m), which makes the 686 a relatively inefficient speaker compared to many others. This makes it even more important that you consider an amplifier at the high end of the range.

Sadly a new 100 watt amp plus preamp of adequate quality may be hard to find for $500. Your best bet in the Rotel range would be this integrated amp:

RA-1062, 60 watt integrated amplifier - $699