X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lca355
    • Sep 2005

A cry for help w/ some CM series demo speakers

Hi all,
    I have been shopping for speakers, and like the B&W 600 series line for my budget and tastes. I am upgrading from, well the speakers inside my TV, so to say I am a Newb is an understatement. While listening to some of the B&W 600 series at a local dealer, the dealer suggested I have a listen at some demo model CM4's floorstanders and a CMC center channel. I did not have the time that day, so I came back the next and gave them a listen compared to 603s3's.
    Ofcourse, I did some searching for posts on these speakers at this site and others and got various opinions from they are just cosmetically enhanced 603s3's to they sound better, etc, etc. I know listening is subjective, and while I did not quite hear it as first, the more I listened to them, the better they did sound to me, gave the music a little more life.
    Now, on to my questions. Upon closer inspection, taking off of the grilles, and the salesman's comments at pointing this out. The tweeter on the CM4 and CMC have a couple of very small dents in the aluminum looking surface. He said this is something he would have them replace, not the actual tweeters themselves, but the thin aluminum color piece covering it. That seems respectable enough, but I am curious as to what would cause that to happen? just someone accidentally bumping into the tweeter, or somebody playing the bejeezus out of it?? I am kind of curious as to whether or not these speakers have been used and abused, how does one tell? I listened to them at different volumes, they sounded good to me, but I really do not know what to look for. With the CM series models being discontinued, it's not like I can listen to a different pair somewhere else to compare. . .