X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tboooe
    • Jun 2005

Help a newbie: describe your B&W soundstage

As some of you may know I am now without my speakers. But that is a long, sad story...not fit for unsuspecting ears.

In the meantime, I want to try and learn more about what I should be getting out of my system. I am a relative newbie to this crazy addiction/hobby.

In my quest for knowledge, I humbly request that people describe the soundstage they get with their setup. Please take pity on a newbie and refrain from using lingo as I am not sure what it means.

In particular, I am interested to understand the following:
    1. what does a "deep" soundstage sound like? Does this mean you hear different layers of instruments?
    2. where does your soundstage begin? Is the music project forward from the speakers or is it flush along the frontal plane?
    3. what does a wide soundstage mean? Does this mean music is projected wider than where the speakers physically are?
    4. how centered and focused should the music be? In my setup, with very little toe in, I get a very focused sound right in the middle but is it too focused? I think I am losing stereo imaging but I am not sure.

I know someone will say its all up to my preferences but I just want to hear what other people have so that I can learn.

Thanks for your input.
  • Briz vegas
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

tboooe, I too would not claim to be an expert but I can describe what I can hear from my 705s. I have some CDs where instruments appear to come from wider that the speakers and have always referred to this as a wide soundstage. My soundstage begins forward of the speakers but this also varies with the material as sometimes it is in line.