X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dlneubec
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

The Mentor II: omnidirectional project #2

So, the board's been a little slow this week :Z and I’m about to wrap up my original Mentor omni project.
    I finished my first open baffle speakers a couple months ago (NaO Mini’s), which I’m extremely happy with. I love the huge sound stage they project and this got me interested in the concept of omnidirectional speakers. In doing a little research, I ran across the Duevel loudspeakers. They use up or down firing drivers that

I have started the think about the next generation, so I thought I’d start a thread on it. I’m going to need even more help on this one, since it will be my first 3-way design. I’m still a newbie, so don’t hesitate to jump in and offer advice or correct my erroneous assumptions, etc. I’m enthralled with the omni sound and hope to improve my implementation of that concept with the second project.

Here are some of the goals I have for it:

• An omnidirectional, direct firing hybrid like the original, but perhaps with an extended omni midrange, maybe with a switchable dipole tweeter implementation.
    • A more attractive design aesthetically, with higher SAF, a smaller front footprint, and a shorter height.
    • Something simpler and easier for most anyone to build.
    • No subwoofer included this time, probably with sealed woofers rolling off around 50hz.
    • Perhaps a crossover with significantly lower order slopes and crossover points where this will be allowed or drivers that are more accommodating. Entirely passive crossover.
    • Extending the omni coverage up higher in frequency by higher mid to tweeter crossover and possibly lower order slopes, but not extending as low in frequency as the previous project.
    • Equivalent or increased efficiency, but possibly higher output without strain on drivers.
    • No use of any diffusers, deflectors, etc.
    • Front firing woofers for good bass punch.