X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Aeromos
    • Jun 2003

A/V Racks - Benefits?

Okay guys jump in on this one. What are the benefits of having a high quality rack? I understand the isolation but not fully. Does vibration really affect the way a component operates? Also I read that depending on the type of rack you have, the dynamic range, clarity, and sound attributes such as bass, mids and highs are affected. I was always under the impression that these things were really determined by your speakers. Can any of you please expound on this without getting too technical. Thanks guys!!

Aeromos
    Enjoy life, it's too short to waste!!
    My Collection
    Aeromos
    Enjoy life, it's too short to waste!!
    My Collection
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Rand,

I'm not a rack designer, but as I understand it, the purpose of a good quality rack is to minimize vibration (isolation) and also to not add any coloration to whatever is output - audio or video.

The isolation component is VERY important to turntable owners, as you have a mechanical point of contact between a stylus and a grooved vinyl surface. Any significant external vibration can cause the stylus to not track as it needs to, which at minimum is inducing poorer sound and at maximum, mistracking and damage to the stylus and/or album. Now for something like CD/DVD which isn't a mechanical/analog contact, vibration may not be nearly as problematic - but it is still there and many audiophiles think it is a source of contamination and want to minimize it. Even further out on the scientific tree limb, is the idea that vibration negatively effects things like pre/pros, amps and the like. Your mileage can and probably will vary on this. . . .