X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sonnie Parker
    • Jan 2002

Comments on my new Toshiba RPTV...

I finally got my new Toshiba 65HDX82 Widescreen RPTV set up. :yesnod:

It was a long day as I had to work it by myself. Trying to get that styrofoam out from under that 280 pound set was not as easy as I thought it would be. :sos: Picking up one end with one hand (while on my old and weakened knees) and reaching under the set with the other hand to pry the foam out was a trick indeed. Eventually I got to where it would roll and roll it I did :-y right into the sweet spot forcing out my old Sony 61" RPTV to our daughters play room until we can get it sold (which may end up being a hard thing to take away from her.)

Of course I immediately got all the equipment connected to the set. Then I started playing around with it as I was reading the manual, learning how it all worked was fairly easy even for a hillbilly like myself. Although another long drawn out chore awaited me as well..... programming my MX-700 remote. I thought I would never get it finished. :banghead: But I did!

Next I decided to get out the AVIA DVD and get started with the basic calibrations that I felt like I could handle. After adjusting the settings as AVIA would suggest I found I wasn't too pleased with them and had to do some minor tweaking to my liking. Albeit I think a lot had to do with the fact I couldn't get all the light out of my room during the day. We watch more TV at night than any other time and I knew AVIA was on the money with my older Sony RPTV as I never messed with it once I set it per AVIA suggestions.

My final Video settings ended up as follows:

Contrast: 50
    Brightness: 45
    Sharpness: 15
    Color: 50
    Tint: +5
    SVM: Off
    Temp: Medium