X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bob
    • Jul 2000

DVD v.s. DVHS Shootout

Last night I had the privilage to watch an extensive demo of DVHS or D-theater (which is what it is being called) at Widescreen Reveiw's incredible reference video theater. I wish that at least one other member would have been there, not only to verify what I saw and heard but also because I am a terrible writer and reveiwer.
    Before I get into the demo I just have to say what a great bunch of people work at Widescreen. Gary is just the nicest laid back guy and so is the rest of the staff. Everybody was made to feel welcomed and it was just like going over to a friends house to watch a movie.
    When Gary was talking I thought that the room was overly treated and was too dead for my taste. Once the sound came up I realized that maybe it wasn't optimum for conversation but, for movie surround sound it was the best I have heard. Only the second time that I had heard better audio than my own system. Even though they use similar electronics (Theta), and similar style (time and phase correct) speakers, the combination of the Citidal amps and the perfectly designed room, far outshined my weak efforts.
    Also in attendence to see the demo was Joe Kane, Neil Sinclair, and a rep from Runco. Or maybe he owns Runco, everybody seem to know him but me. Joe Kane gave a short demo of the new video essentials that he is in the process of preparing. Ever the perfectionist he has really outdone himself. Starting with the first 10 bit editing system so that there are no up and down conversions between the original source and the final poduct. It will certainly be a must buy disc for optimizing your HDTVs.