X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tpirovol
    • Dec 2007

best affordable projectors

Hi Everyone,

My cousin and I are looking for the best projectors in the below ranges. This will just be for blu-ray and DVD movies not for everyday use in a small home theater room. Our budgets are a bit different so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mine: $2000 - $3000
    Cousins: $-1000 - $2000

Thanks Terry
  • 2channellover
    • Jan 2009

I've been researching HDprojectors for a few months. The best one thus far has been the Optoma HD8000. There are couple of versions of the 1080p system that impacts the pricing from $2000 to $3000 which covers both of your budgets.

Screens - You didn't mention screens, meaning you're okay there, but if not...I'm finding aside from Stewart, everyone sources the screen fabric for the same suppliers. I wouldn't spend a ton, but you want a nice frame.

Comment

• George Bellefontaine
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Jan 2001

For a variety of reasons I am always cautious about making recommendations. So much depends on the viewing environment,e.g.: do you have total control over lighting, how large or small is the room, and how far will you be sitting from the screen, etc. Secondly, there are basically three popular types of technology right now ( DLP, LCD, LCOS ) and each have their pros and cons. The one thing I will say for certian, that if as you say, you will only be watching Blu-ray and dvd then I would strongly urge you go with a 1080p projector. I own both a 720p and a 1080p projector and the latter is my preference. I believe Sanyo is bringing an lcd unit out for around or just under the $2K mark. Why not visit some of the various manufacturer websites such as BenQ, Panasonic, Sanyo, Sharp, InFocus, etc. You'll glean a lot of info there.
      My Homepage!

Comment

• Chris D
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Dec 2000