X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MiniVanMan
    • Sep 2005

Yamaha RX-V Receivers

Hi there!!

I'm very new to HT, but not audio. I'm going to start building some DIY speakers, as soon as I get this question answered. I'm going to be getting a Yamaha RX-V receiver. I'm not sure on the model. It's either the 1500 or the 2400. It's 120x7 if that helps. I'm getting it through a rewards program with work, so it's pretty much a done deal. My question is what are these receivers actually capable of as far as impedance goes. The manual states 8 or 6 ohms. That's kind of frustrating seeing as I'd really like to couple it with some 4 ohm MTM towers. Will that receiver handle 4 ohms, and if so, how do I set the receiver up in order to do so? I know there's a switch on the back that you have to set for either 6 or 8, and while my gut says, go ahead and throw a 4 ohm load on that baby, my brain is saying "they have the switch for a reason."

Thanks in advance for your help.
  • Snap
    Super Senior Member
    • Feb 2005

The 2500 is the one that is 130x7 Accourding to the manual page 106 of 112 it list the power ratings down to 2 ohms. How ever the set up guide only list 6. I have heard of people using 4ohm speakers with Yammy stuff.

If you can swing the 2500 it is the bigger of the 2. Nice unit.
    The Bitterness of poor quality last longer than the joy of low prices.

Comment

• Snap
      Super Senior Member
      • Feb 2005

Went to Yammy's website. You CAN use 1 pair of 4 ohm speakers. I thought you could but I wanted to make sure. Below is the area I copied from the website, as well as the link.