X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lolopimp
    • Jul 2005

Question about home theater

I'm a newbie with the Home Theater world so spare with me. I'm looking for a good HTiB that can sound great even at high volumes and a subwoofer that will shatter my walls. I was going to buy the Onkyo 770 which seemed like a powerful system and good for the price, but the company discontinued it. I went to Circuit City yesterday and my eyes saw the Sony HT-6900DP found here: http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTE...stems_HTSeries.

The system looked really nice and the subwoofer looked like the type I want. I heard Onkyo speakers were big so it was a relief to see these medium size speakers. The receiver seemed nice and had DTS-ES NEO, Dolby Digitak EX, Pro Logic IIx, and it all seemed to be a nice package. And yes, I'm looking for a system with 6 speakers and has the latest sound formats becuase I'll be watching movies like Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Indeoendence Day, and The Lion King. So does it seem like a good system? Is there anything I need to be awared of before buying a system? Would you recommend a better system that's around the $450 budget?

Help will be appreciated.
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi John, welcome to The Guide. :welcome:

I'm going to move your post into our The Starting Block forum, which is set up for basic/beginning issues. I'm not familiar with the Sony, but from looking at the specs on it, it does seem to have most of what you'll need to start out. I'm not sure just how much low bass you'll get out of a single 9" driver- don't expect 20 Hz output - but again realize that upgrading will forever take over your life.

David - Trigger-happy HTGuide Admin

Comment

• Uncle Clive
      Former Moderator
      • Jan 2002