X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • akfire
    • Dec 2004

RGB and HDTV

I currently have a RUNCO 3 Gun projector which has RGB cables. Is it possible to have HDTV without changing the these cables to component or DVI cables?
  • Uncle Clive
    Former Moderator
    • Jan 2002

Hi Andrew, I am not sure I'm following correctly however, most systems that are High Definition Ready uses the component input (the RGB input and cables) to transport that signal. Of course, there is DVI and HDMI available now but if your Runco is High Definition Ready, then the RGB\COMPONENT video input would be the one to use.
    CLIVE

HEY!! Why buy movie tickets when you can own a Theater?

Comment

• akfire
      • Dec 2004

Clive, Thanks for your reply. I'm a beginner so please bear with me. My projector does not have actual component inputs. It's older with the 5 input RGB/white, yellow ports. I think the system has HDTV (Runco 980 IDP) capability, but I'm not sure.
      Any info I can get is greatly appreciated.

Andy

Comment

• Uncle Clive
        Former Moderator
        • Jan 2002

No apologies required here, this is what "The Starting Block" is about. I have invited a couple of moderators from the front projection forum to assist us here. Please wait for their responses.
        CLIVE

HEY!! Why buy movie tickets when you can own a Theater?

Comment

• Dean McManis
          Moderator Emeritus
          • May 2003

Welcome Akfire,

RGB (or RGBHV) is the way that computers output their high resolution analog picture information. The main connections for PCs and high resolution CRT projectors were separate RGBHV cables or the familiar VGA connector.

Component connections were a way to get the RGB and sync signals with only 3 RCA plug connectors.