X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rolyasm
    • Dec 2004

Subwoofer Cable?

I am running a second zone off of my Denon 3801 into my family room area. It is in a house I am building, so no insulation or sheetrock, yet. I want to prewire for the sub. I was told I could use coaxial (cable)line. Does this work? Anything better that I can get a hold of quickly? Also, going to drop some speaker wire into the same room for future surround. Is 2 lines of 12g. enough? thanks
    roly
    Last edited by Rolyasm; 31 May 2005, 00:29 Tuesday.
  • Patt
    • Feb 2005

One of several different ways to do it, but my self powered sub gets it's signal from the speaker binding posts on back of the reciever.

edited: Let me say I am far from an expert on this matter.
    Last edited by Patt; 27 May 2005, 20:33 Friday.
    ......Pat

Comment

• mickster1972
      • Feb 2005

Coax will work fine for sub; in fact it is what most sub patch cable is and should be made from. Get some with a thick center conductor (RG-6?) and good shielding. There are certain cable mfgr. online that will describe which types of coax are better for certain audio/video applications. 12 g. is plenty for surround speaker wire. I am running 50-60 feet (prewired inwall) of 14 g. to my surrounds without problem.
      "MMMMMMM..... Floor Pie..... Marge, where's the silver digging thing?"

-Homer

Comment

• Chris D
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Dec 2000

Yup, I ran coaxial cable through the walls for my subwoofers. I chose to use RG6U, quad-shield coax, for quality. Works just great. You can buy coax RCA terminators from Parts Express.

I used 12 gauge speaker wire too. Just fine.
        CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
        - Pleasantville

Comment

• ELTRIGO
          • May 2005

Subwoofer Cable?

I have two subs hooked up to my Onkyo system. One is the Onkyo 10" 220 watts (peak) sub that came in the Onkyo HT-S770 package and the other is a RCA 12" 200 watt RMS.