X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Penningtonsm
    • Jan 2005

Lil help please

I just bought a home, and to my satisfaction it has a separate family room that the misses has let me have to set up a home theater. I am relatively new to home theater projectors so i was hoping i could get some help. After reading a bit about them and with my budget in mind I deciced to go with the Panasonic 700. My question is this: My room is 15x15. Is this room going to be too small for a 92" screen. I dont want to go in there and feel like I am sitting in the front row of the MOvie Theaters. Also, I was thinking about going with the Bose Acoustimass 10 series speakers with a Harmon Kardon reciever. Will these speakers be too much for the size of my room. Thanks in advance for any and all of your help.

Steve
  • CJ Paul
    • Oct 2004

1) Whether or not the rooom is big enough is not the issue, it depends on how far you are planning on sitting from the screen. Here (http://www.myhometheater.homestead.c...alculator.html) is a useful tool for calculating seating distance vs. screen size.

2) Bose? Uhm, they are good for if your absolute #1 priority is having speakers that dont draw any visual attention, or that dont take up any space in the room, but they are grossly overpriced for the performance you get.

For real Bose killers (room filling sound from smaller spakers, if that's your desire) at a similar cost check out Mirage (http://miragespeakers.com/index.shtml). Look at the Omnisat, Omnisat Micro, or Nanosat depending on what your volume level requirements would be. All of them are wall mountable and "palm-top" sized speakers. Of course, you'd need a sub, but just about any sub you could even lay your hands on would be better than Bose's "bass module". Also check out the AV123 Tyke system for a high quality, small, budget system. At $399, you cant beat it with a stick.

Comment

• BlazeMaster
      • May 2004