X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • buzzyng
    • Dec 2004

Rear/surround placements?

I am moving to a new house that is going to provide some challenges for the home theater setup. I am new to this and been reading alot of past posts but still am not sure the best config so I thought someone might be able to assist.

The room has walls on the front, right side, and rear (there are 2 big windows on the rear wall). The left side is open to the kitchen. The ceilings are 9'.

The RPTV will be on the front and the seating area is against the back wall.

I want to setup a 5.1 or 7.1 configuration but cannot put the surrounds on the side. Should I put them in the ceiling or on the back wall for a 5.1? How to config for 7.1? What type (dipole/direct) for each location?

Thanks in advance.
  • Burke Strickland
    • Sep 2001

Can you draw us a picture? Literally. A floor plan of the rooms involved would help us figure out the best way to answer your questions.

How big is the room? Does the seating area have to be against the back wall? (That makes it harder to achieve an effective surround sound field.) Not knowing the room dimensions other than ceiling height makes it difficult to visualize how far the RPTV will be from the seating area and how things might be (better) arranged to acheive your goals.

How are you planning to cover the two big windows? Light coming through can ruin the video picture and sound reflecting off the glass doesn't help either.

Give us a few more clues and we'll be better able to help solve this puzzle! :>)

Burke

What you DON'T say may be held against you...

Comment

• buzzyng
      • Dec 2004

OK. I guess the seating doesn't have to be against the back wall, that is where I assumed the sofas would go. The windows will have coverings over them plus there is a covered porch outside that will limit the amount of light coming in.

I've attached the room layout.

thanks again
      Attached Files

Comment

• buzzyng
        • Dec 2004