X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bundi1098
    • Nov 2004

System Setup Question

Please forgive me I am a novice but enjoyed reading many posts on this site.

I just recently bought a Yamaha RX-V2500 and was looking for some help with some basic questions.

I curently have Infinity Front and Center speakers and a set of Bose rear. I need to pickup a set of speakers for the 7.1 suround.

Which speakers are more important back or side?

Any suggestions on speakers for around $100 each to either buy for back or replace the side?
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi Michael, welcome to The Guide. :welcome:

Which speakers are more important back or side?
    I'm not sure of the reasons behind your question, so I'll answer it a couple of ways.

Initially I'll come squarely down on the fence and say "both are just as important". To me, if you are panning from side-to-side (which with a 7.1 system, it generally sends the pan across the rear speakers also) mis-matched speakers cause all sorts of noticable changes in the sound as it moves around the room. Not a good thing for keeping you into the moment of the movie or musical selection IMO. My advice would be to save a bit longer and wait on your purchase until you can get 4 of the same speaker for the surrounds.

Now, if you are just going to use 2 of the 4 channels for a long period of time, I'd go with the sides over the rears. 5.1 used side (or corner) placement of the surrounds, and I suspect if you go into the set-up menu, you can shut the rears off which should cause the information going to them to be folded into the side channels. My RX-V1 has this capability.

Okay, reading the manual (from the Yamaha website), on page 63 it says:

Select "None" if yo do not have a surround back speaker. The unit directs all of the surround back channel signal to the surround left and right speakers.

I hope this helps.

David - Trigger-happy HTGuide Admin

Comment

• Bundi1098
      • Nov 2004