X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hanser
    • May 2002

Question about passiv preamp

I heard that for passiv preamps the impedance of source and amp must fit somehow. Could somebody please tell me, what should be observed?
    My CD player has an output impedance of 120 Ohms, my power amp an input impedance of 27 kOhms. It also has input sensitivity of 1 Volt. Will a passiv preamp like the Creek OBH12 work?

Thanks in advance,

Hartwig Hanser
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi Hartwig! Welcome to the forum. :T There is a very good article on passive pre-amps in the latest issue of Listener. I'm not technically adept enough to repeat it from here at the office, but I'll look at it this evening and post more info then.

Stay around - there are good, knowledgable and friendly folk here.

David - HTGuide flunky
    Our "Theater"
    Our DVDs on DVD Tracker

David - Trigger-happy HTGuide Admin

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

Welcome to the forum! I'm sure Jon or Thomas will chime in here soon with an answer for you

Comment

• John Holmes
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Aug 2000

Welcome to the Guide Hanser!

"I came here, to chew bubble gum and kickass. And I'm all out of bubble gum!!!" My DVD's
        "I have come here, to chew bubblegum and kickass. And I'm all out of bubblegum!!!"

Comment

• Lex
          Moderator Emeritus
          • Apr 2001

Unfortunately, it appears that Jon may be unavailable for a few days. Now it is possible, that he could happen by and see the post, but I dont' think he will get the email I sent him sking him to take a look here, until the 15th.

Welcome to the forum, and a great first question!
          Lex
          Doug
          "I'm out there Jerry, and I'm loving every minute of it!" - Kramer

Comment

• brucek
            HTG Expert
            • Aug 2000

Hartwig,