X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ClosetSciFiGeek
    • Oct 2009

How do you clean your Vynil

Just getting back into LP's. Bought an inexpensive Pro-Ject Debut III. My problem is that I bought a really nice 180gram double LP pressing of AC/DC songs from Ironman2 that sounds great(assuming because they are clean and new). My wife bought a used double LP by Eric Clapton and it is kind of crackly and poppy. I think it is because they need to be cleaned. What do you recommend to clean them?
    "You get what you Inspect, not what you Expect"
    -Hyman G. Rickover
  • audioqueso
    Super Senior Member
    • Nov 2004

There are cleaning kits for vinyl. The one I own has a box-shaped brush that feels like the brush is microfiber. There is also a small spray that I add a small amount to clean one LP. I've been using this small cleaning kit for about 10 years now.
    B&W 804S/Velodyne SPL-1000R/Anthem MRX720

Comment

• Pio
      • Nov 2005

Originally posted by ClosetSciFiGeek
      Just getting back into LP's. Bought an inexpensive Pro-Ject Debut III. My problem is that I bought a really nice 180gram double LP pressing of AC/DC songs from Ironman2 that sounds great(assuming because they are clean and new). My wife bought a used double LP by Eric Clapton and it is kind of crackly and poppy. I think it is because they need to be cleaned. What do you recommend to clean them?
      Its pricey but consider a cleaner like VPIs 16.5 -I've been using it for over a year and it is amazing how good it can make your records sound. Check Music Direct or Audiogon.com for bargains.

The world's largest online retailer of high-end audio, audiophile music, and accessories. We specialize in vinyl records and turntables.

I've used it on my entire collection - records when I was a kid (like the original pressing of Synchronicity) which I thought was toast sound great!
      Stereo: Revel F208, Parasound JC2, JC1's, Oppo HA-1, VPI, Dynavector, Moon