X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • greenhorn
    • Feb 2007

Salesman Suggested The Following

I’m pretty new to better quality Stereo\Home Theater world, have some basic understanding, but by no means do I really know my way around this stuff yet. I was out shopping for a new DVD player and the salesman suggested a unique (to me) way of hooking up the DVD player I was looking at to my Pre-Amp. The DVD player is an ARCAM DV 78, the Pre-Amp is an Anthem AVM 20 connected to an Anthem PVA-7. He said he was told about this setup by someone from Anthem a while back. He said it resulted in a very pure sound with no processing done to the signal, close in a sense to vinyl.

So, not being very sophisticated in processing, configuration and all… anyone have any thoughts? Is this a common configuration that can be done with most DVD players and Preamps\ integrated receivers that have the Analog Audio 6 channel in? Anyone else doing it?

You use the red white “Analog Outs” from the DVD player and plug them into the Front Left and Front Right 6-Channel Analog Inputs on the back of the Pre-Amp. When you play the CD you select the 6 Channel input on the Preamp and set the 6 Channel input to bypass all digital stages. The other thing he mention is this is strictly 2-Channel stereo, nothing is sent to the sub, that your 2 fronts will be handling all the Bass.

I reviewed the Anthem AVM 20 manual and it states pretty much as above, but it doesn’t suggest any specific reason a person would use this configuration only that if the 6 Channel input is unused, the Front-Left and Front Right inputs can be used as a 2 channel input.

I did use this setup and the music did sound very good. Any thoughts on all of this?
  • PewterTA
    • Nov 2004

You CAN do that.