X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • timetohunt
    • Feb 2007

Help with Audio Coax cables

I am new to the audio hobby. Have about 12k worth of music but nothing of an audio system to speak of yet. So I am working on it. Here are a couple questions about the coax audio cables.

#1. I realize that these are required in order to pass HT or surround information from a CD/DVD to a receiver. Do these also improve stereo listening over the RCA type audio cables? Or is it only the 5.1 and surround stuff that matters with these coax cables?

#2. I need one of the coax cables about 50 feet in length. This is because my receiver will not be near one of my DVD players (most of my stereo equipment is far away from my TV/DVD player because I don't have room for an audio cabinet where the TV is. Is there is a problem with running a cable this long? (its going to be hidden in the drop ceiling).

#3. Circuit City wanted 44 bucks for a 3 ft coax cable. Is this for real?
    It was a Monster brand. Where should I be looking to get deals on good Cables? And does one coax brand really matter from another? I always here about how standard speaker wire works just as good as high dollar stuff, is this so for the coax audio cable as well? THANKS !
  • Lex
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Apr 2001

First, establish fact one, I am the Cable Guy, owner of this forum, and CAT Cables.com, our sponsor cable company.

1. Yes, DD or DTS audio signals are passed over the digital stream. Coax or optical is required. Forget optical at lengths of 50 feet, not doable with consumer gear.

2. Coax could be done at 50 feet, but I'm not sure I've sold anything that long before.