X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Taito
    • Sep 2004

The next step...

Hi all, over the past year or so, I have been putting together what I consider to be a very nice stereo system. My current list of kit includes:
    -Rotel RCD-1072 cd player
    -Rotel RC-1070 preamp
    -Rotel RB-1080 power amp
    -JMLab Cobalt 826S speakers
    -Soundstyle XS105 rack
    -Audioquest Bedrock biwire speaker cable
    -Generic interconnects -these come later (will drop you a line one of these days Doug)
    -Thor surgeshield A2

Now, my question is this: If I were to add a turntable, what should I be looking at -I can spend about $1000AU and am considering the Project 1 Xpression with speedbox and a decent MM cartridge (hear the Xpression is easy to set up -also helpful).

The other question... Is it worth me getting into vinyl? I have very little experience with Vinyl (am only 21) but am quite interested in this mechanical device that can be more musical than CD. I know, I should probably buy a cheapie to see... but that would be an unfair advantage to my CD player.

Anyhow... thoughts, suggestions, hints, experiences.... Thanks guys, Ben
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi Ben,

Okay, going in I have to admit I'm a bit of a vinyl fan-boy so keep that in mind.

I do think it's worthwhile getting into vinyl. Not only is there a huge selection of used albums available, there are more and more new pressings available every month. Admittedly many of the new pressings are of jazz, classical and the like, but there are some rock cornerstones being re-pressed. There are rumblings about Sony announcing it will be getting back into vinyl in a major way.

One question: Does the 1070 have a phono input? if not, you'll need to purchase a phono-stage to run the TT into, and then run the phono-stage outputs into one of the standard inputs on the 1070. This isn't a big deal BTW. There are many good, inexpensive phono-stages to choose from.