X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jepebee
    • Nov 2012

CP800 as headphone amp?

Has anyone experienced the CP800 as headphone amp?
  • madmac
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2010

Classe has a headphone amp???? WOW!! Did not know that......

What do they charge for that??. 1000 BUCKS!!! Hehehe
    Dan Madden :T

Comment

• mjb
      Super Senior Member
      • Mar 2005

The CP-800 has a headphone output on the front panel - where as the SSP-800 does not. Sorry to say I've no experience with it though. From the CP-800 white paper:

"A headphone output on the front panel is a no- compromise feature, offering the same quality of analog output as the main output channels."
      - Mike

Main System:
      B&W 802D, HTM2D, SCMS
      Classé SSP-800, CA-2200, CA-5100

Comment

• jepebee
        • Nov 2012

Indeed my question wasn't clear. Sorrt for that.
        I use the CP 800 as preamp for my 2 Sumo amp in bi-amplification of the 2 speakers B&W 801 Matrix.
        I would want to listen to my CD of classical music with a hifi headphone like the Beyerdynamic T1 or Hifiman HE 500 or even H6. But everywhere they say that I should have a dedicated headphone amp to mrun it at full capacity.
        But given the qualities of the CP 800 I wonder if it is necessary to add such a headphone amp and if such a preamp as the CP 800 would not be able to manage the headphone as well? Would the result be interesting or would it be too bad compared with the B&W
        Thanks fot your answer.

Comment

• madmac
          Moderator Emeritus
          • Aug 2010

If this helps, I've done A/B comparisons with my headphones (Grado SR 80's) plugged direct into my Marantz CD63SE player and also via a JDS Labs O2 headphone amp and the amp wins hands down!. More, better bass....more 'punchy' and more like the feel of listening through 'real' speakers!!. Movie/ DVD concert presentation is also very nice as well.
          Dan Madden :T

Comment

Working...