X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • adejoie
    • Dec 2005

Classe CDT-300 vs. CDP-300

Hi all, this is my first time posting but I have a question about the Classe CDT-300 vs. the CDP-300. I've already purchased the SSP-600 and the CA-5200 and am trying to decide on the CD/DVD player. Is there a significant cost difference between the CDT and CDP? I know the CDP is $6500 retail but cant find any pricing info on the CDT. Also I'm planning on using with an all B&W system: 803s, ASW825, HTM3s and either in celing speakers like the 8NT or the SCMS. any suggestions?
  • grit
    • Jan 2005

I don't think the CDT is out yet, but my dealer said it would be going for $4500.

Comment

• moonlightdrive21
      • Dec 2005

What are supposed to be the differences between the two as far as sound quality and format/features?

Thanks,
      Dave

Comment

• Kobus
        • Aug 2005

What will be the primary use of your system?

Kobus

Comment

• skuzzyb
          • Mar 2006

From what I have read, the CDT is a Transport, the CDP has post processing. The CDT is mainly designed to be mated with the SSP900 which is scheduled to be released soon. So, if you want all the video processing, then the CDP is the way to go from what I have read.

Comment

• sikoniko
            Super Senior Member
            • Aug 2003

I have not heard any details about the SSP-900, so to assume that it has a 2 channel DAC is purely speculation...

Basically, a transport does not have any DACs and a processor does. If you don't have them onboard, you have to buy an external DAC to do the digital to analog conversion.
            I'm just sittin here watchin the wheels go round and round...

Comment

• rickc
              • Sep 2006