X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • spmachina77
    • Oct 2006

testing wtmw center....crossover help

k, guys, this is my first attempt to build a fullrange speaker. As well as build crossovers from scratch.

Anyways, I'm missing a cap for the mid crossover, so could only test out the tweeter and woofers today (without the box).

Tweeter seems to play fine.

The woofers however, are very very quite (I know they will be louder in a box)....but they just seem way to quite. And when I do turn them up I can hear high pitched noises coming from the large iron core inductor (red one in the pic). Is this normal?

can somebody check out my crossover, and see if it looks ok (don't see how I could have messed up with it being so simple.

Is there anything I can test with a multimeter to check?

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01163Medium.webp
Views:	80
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	940570

i'm following dennis crossover, for the seas version of the wmtw
    Last edited by theSven; 18 June 2023, 16:05 Sunday. Reason: Update image location
  • bmowis
    • Oct 2006

Hi...

Just finished building my first pair of speakers last month. When I tested out my crossover on the woofers, there was so little output that it had me quite worried. But after I mounted the woofers into the baffle, it sounded 100% better. I wouldn't worry about that part. Just make sure that what you hear out of the woofers is the bottom end and what you hear out of the tweeter is the top end. Your cabinet will take care of the volume.

...as for the noise coming from your xover, try switching out your iron core inductor for an air core. Most of the guys here will tell you that you should not be using iron core, I think.

Brad

Comment

• BigJim_inFLA
      • Jun 2006

It looks as if you have everything wired and labeled correctly, but...the schematic you linked to shows L1031 to be 0.550 mH and the sticker on the inductor in the picture says it's a 1.20 mH. I bet that would make a difference!!

Jim

Comment