X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lehnok
    • Jul 2023

Seeking Woofer Suggestions for Accuton C50 and SS R2904/7000 Setup

Greetings everyone,

I'm relatively new to the audio hobby and recently acquired the Accuton C50 and SS R2904/7000. Given my limited knowledge, I'm in search of recommendations for a suitable woofer to complement these components. Any fellow audio enthusiasts out there with recommendations or perhaps a project I could draw inspiration from? This is my first post, but I've been an avid lurker in the community.

Cheers,
    Lehnok
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

Not knowing how much information you have about these drivers, you might find the HiFi Compass page for the Accuton mid useful.

The THD measurements at distance of 315 mm and voltage levels from 4 Volt to 11.2 Volt were carried out with High Pass Filter "on" (2nd order Butterworth type, 500 Hz cutoff, HPF2-500)

I've experimented with it in the past, it has a nice top end, but the linear Xmax is under 1mm, so don't run it hard down low. a Crossover point around 750 Hz might be sensible, depending on your SPL targets.

That suggests a woofer or woofers that are fairly pistonic up to 1500Hz or better. On a budget, dual RS180-8 would work well, and with sufficient volume, be able to work below 40Hz at moderate volumes (think larger Natalie P configurations). Above that price range, one might consider the Wavecor SW223, but they're expensive these days and hard to get. My favorite general purpose woofer of late has become the Dayton RSS210HF-10, because it is fairly linear, goes pretty low in smaller enclosures, and has a very clean stiff cone and surround up to the first breakup mode above 4 kHz. The main "drawback" to this driver is the low sensitivity - there is no getting around Hoffman's Iron law if you want frequency extension in a small cabinet. It is nominally a subwoofer, but it has a midrange behavior rivaling many woofers and some midranges!