X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • brendon
    • Aug 2004

Advice sought on building speaker stands

Hi All ,I am currently looking at buying some bookshelf style speakers as fronts for a home theater sytem and I am thinking about about building the stands my self as budget is limited.I would love to hear your thoughts on best construction techniques and materials.I am reasonably handy and have access to basic wood working equip (router ,basic saw bench etc) and have basic metalwork skills (aicraft mechanic by trade) .
    Thanks for your assistance Brendon
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

I don't think there's a 'best' design.

One of the easiest 'better' designs is to simply use PVC pipe as the riser. When completed, fill it with sand to mass load it.

Just to get you started here's a monster link DIY stands, there are dozens of examples shown.

If you take one of the ideas from there, we can fine-tune it if you like.......

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• Ten 99
      • Apr 2004

Brendon,

Have you seen any particular commercially available stands that you like, or would like to use as inspiration. If you have something like that, we could probably give you suggestions on how to make it work.

Something worth consideration too, is what do the bookshelf speakers you're considering look like?

Comment

• brendon
        • Aug 2004

Re speakers for stands

Hi, thanks for the rapid replies.I am hoping the budget will stretch to B&W 602 0r 603 .My initial thoughts were along the line of aluminium or steel tube with a flat plate for base and top with some provision for spikes and filled with sand as suggested.I will have a look at the link tonight after work
        Thanks Brendon

Comment

• Ten 99
          • Apr 2004