Questions and observations re: Mentor II omni speaker. The "Duevel" project.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jazzman2
    • Oct 2019

Questions and observations re: Mentor II omni speaker. The "Duevel" project.

Hello All,
    This is my first post and I have come about 12 years late to this topic.

A couple of weeks ago I auditioned the Duevel Bella Luna Diamante omnidirectional speaker and was very impressed.

First of all the Duevel sound is effortless. I listened for a solid 2 hours and it was completely non fatiguing and natural sounding. The speakers completely disappear and the soundstage is immense. The soundstage seems to "adjust" to the recording space whether it be a concert hall or an intimate setting.

Since I am a hobbyist woodworker I got to wondering if I could build a set of my own similar in design, and after some internet research found Mr. Neubec's Mentor I and Mentor II projects.
    The level of effort and documentation Mr. Neubec has put into his posts on the topic are absolutely amazing and of professional quality. After going through the posts (and there were many) I have a couple of observations and some questions.

1. Was the "Duevel-like" version of the project ever completed? In reading the posts it appeared that when the Duevel like diffusers were used in concert with a waveguide for the tweeter, the frequency response was excellent both and off axis. I am curious why this version of the project was shelved?

2. Mr. Neubec referred to high efficiency woofers and compression drivers for the tweeter. Is there a particular reason why they were not used in the project? His posts suggest that use of such drivers could have simplified the Mentor design since only 2 drivers would be required.