Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bassatack
    • Feb 2019

Khanspires/KhanCenter Help

Hello, Let me start off by mentioning that I am new to DIY, and need a bit of help. My goal is to eventually build a 5.1 setup. I really wanted to build some sensations or finalists, but due to room constraints, I had to look at alternatives. My main issue is I need something that can be placed near the wall (12" or less).

This lead me to the Khanspires. These seemed like the perfect solution for me until I realized that the RS28A-4 tweeter has been discontinued.

Is there a suitable drop in replacement for this tweeter? What about the Morel CAT-308? I understand that the RST28A-4 would require an updated crossover. Can someone please advise me on the best path forward? Should I be looking at a different design altogether?

Thanks!
    Last edited by bassatack; 06 May 2019, 10:47 Monday.
  • Paulie
    • Jul 2008

You should consider the Anthology’s

Comment

• 0m3g4
      • Nov 2015

Anthologies have the same constraints as the statements. They both need to be ~16" from the wall, that's why he was looking into the khans.

Meniscus has the tweeters you are looking for

$54.77/ea, so the khans are still doable, though I love the look and the idea of the Canaiolo. I wanted to build those, but ended up building the anthologies. Great speakers, i don't regret them at all, but they really do need the spacing from the wall to come alive.
      Last edited by 0m3g4; 07 May 2019, 08:24 Tuesday.

Comment

• bassatack
        • Feb 2019

Originally posted by 0m3g4
        Anthologies have the same constraints as the statements. They both need to be ~16" the wall, that's why he was looking into the khans.

Meniscus has the tweeters you are looking for