X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • joeyb462
    • Mar 2016

Bipolar FR's in a Sealed Enclosure

Great forum, first time poster.

As I am currently in the research phase of a DIY build, I thought I would come to the masters. I have five goals.

1. Must be bipolar – not for the purist, but I like the sound stage.
    2. Big sound – because Miles Davis deserves nothing less.
    3. Must be relatively compact – I do have a wife.
    4. Crossover-less – I am a beginner to speaker design. It would seem that full range and compact don’t play nice.
    5. Can be driven by my DIY set of 45 Watt KT120 monoblocs

After much research and fiddling with freeware programs like WinISD and the like, I was convinced that my efforts were severely misguided until I ran into the Blueberry Audio Rhapsody in 4D. Anybody looked at this system? Appears to use Fostex FE208EZ Sigma FR drivers in a very compact sealed enclosure. Highs are handled with what looks like a Fostex TA500. While not necessarily crossover-less, this design seems simple enough due to the FR drivers and meets most of the criteria. The tweeter may only have the attenuator and cap in its network, but I don’t know.

I am very interested in this concept, but have no idea how to model a system like this. Any takers out there that want to point me in the right direction? I just finished reading the entire internet and it appears silent on the subject.

Thanks for your kind opinions.

Joey
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

If they supply T/S parameters, you can model the box reposes as for any other speaker. If it's truly crossover less, it would have to have a natural BSC built in to the frequency response, but from what I've heard of most full range systems, many of those who favor that type just live with the frequency response. But many don't.