X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Heli-Tim
    • Nov 2015

Statement II System

Hi everyone! My name is Tim, and I am a Newfoundlander!

I have been reading HTguide for a while, and recently decided to sign up.

I am very familiar with electronics and woodworking. I also play a wide assortment of musical instruments. Professionally I work as an Avionics AME (aircraft electrical / electronics), and decided to combine my education/ skill set with my love of music. I will be building a pair of Statement II's.

I am at the beginning of a learning curve with home audio hi fi systems, and was wondering if anybody who has built this system can recommend or talk about their choice of system components and how they compliment the speakers.

I have a sound(yup, I went there) understanding of electronics, but am lacking experience in the selection of audio components(amps, preamp, mixers, converters, etc). The only experience I have was picking out my beautiful Marshall JCM 900 and half stack cabinet 8 years ago

Thanks, and I look forward to your comments/ suggestions!
  • BobEllis
    Super Senior Member
    • Dec 2005

Welcome, Tim, from a half Newfoundlander. My paternal grandparents emigrated to the U.S. In the 1920s.

The entire statement series will be able to take advantage of good quality electronics. Without knowing your electronics budget or listening habits, I'll suggest you go with separates, at least 150WPC. I don't have experience with them, but many here swear by the Emotiva brand for performance and value.

Don't forget good source equipment. I'm using an Oppo BDP-103's variable analog outputs to directly drive my DIY amps. I'm very happy with it, but when I finish my Wavecor Ardents I'm going to explore DAC options, probably with a DIY preamp.