X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Blaine
    • Jan 2007

CJD RS 3 way MTMWW? Or something else?

I may not pull the trigger for a while. Money and wife, ya know, FYI. And before I go any further I'd like to say that I have a lot of respect for the members of this forum. There's some brilliant, and helpful, people here.

I've been lurking on this forum (and others) for years. I've built a few speakers. My main music speakers are currently the Stentorians. When I first started reading about DIY, Brian Bunge's CJD RS 3 way MTMWW thread (http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthr...S-3-way-towers) was the first I followed. Also at (http://www.divine-audio.com/canaiolo/3). I've never heard them, and I know it's an older design, but I believe the speakers would still be considered excellent by anybody.

I keep thinking I want to build something extravagant (even though I'm a motorcycle mechanic and can't afford "extravagant"). I like the Stentorians for dynamic range, and honestly I still think the upgraded BR-1s sound lovely, but everything's always been a compromise. I know there are many designs with higher quality drivers than the Stentorians - the forums are flooded with beautiful MT and MTM bookshelf designs, then there's dipoles and whatnot.

I've gotten used to the Stentorians great dynamics, so I don't think I'm willing to scale down, even for better resolution. I'll undoubtedly build other smaller speakers in the future, ie. for the garage or whatever, but I want something "wow" for my main music system.