X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • daniel4381
    • Jul 2014

Need suggestion on selecting DIY Kits

Hi, This will be my first try of building a speaker, but I am confused in selecting the kits. I have a Bose Acoustimass 10 for enjoying movie that is powered by Onkyo NR 727. According to my experience the performance of Bose for listening music is awful. I have another receiver that is Yamaha rxv 595 but no speaker at this moment. I also have yamaha yst sw160 active woofer. I need a speaker that is suitable for enjoying classical music (classical and instrumental) where there is very clear high, mid range and reasonable low but not harsh and listening fatigue, soundstage and imaging are also important to me. I have a limited budget (500/600 $ including cabinet) so initially I was planing to buy a magnepan MMG but I could not decide as I have never heard any maggies. I have no knowledge or experience on electronics but I have good access to woodwork and soldering. I prefer floor-standing speaker. With this little bit explanation please give your valuable suggestion on my selection of kits
    1. Swope Tower http://meniscusaudio.com/swope-tower-pair-p-1334.html
    2. Speedster TMM http://meniscusaudio.com/speedster-pair-p-1393.html
    3. Zaph|Audio ZA5.3t TMM Tower, Pair http://www.madisoundspeakerstore.com...mm-tower-pair/
    4. Or any other that can fit onto my budget.
    Your cooperation is highly expected, thanks.
  • 5th element
    Supreme Being Moderator
    • Sep 2009

The ZA14 driver is killer. It measures more like drivers costing $150+ and I've used the DQ25 in one of my own designs and was extremely pleased with it's presentation. If you're after a smaller, more budget orientated floor stander then it's hard to go wrong with the Zaph design.
    What you screamin' for, every five minutes there's a bomb or something. I'm leavin' Bzzzzzzz!
    5th Element, otherwise known as Matt.
    Now with website. www.5een.co.uk Still under construction.

Comment