Transient perfect background help request.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BobEllis
    Super Senior Member
    • Dec 2005

Transient perfect background help request.

This weekend I was playing around with my system, creating an active 3 way + sub system using http://www.thuneau.com/ Frequency Allocator crossover program. I managed to get a nice configuration then I made a "mistake." I switched on the Arbitrator, which uses some form of magic to make the crossovers transient perfect. Now I have to have transient perfect crossovers. The problem is that Allocator/Arbitrator require processing time and the delay messes up lip synch in my multi purpose music/HT system. If I fix the mains the surrounds are early, not a good effect.

While I have an engineering degree and had a fair amount of calculus, it was a long time ago and has not been used in decades. I can still handle basic calculus, but that's about it. Can anyone suggest some reading/self learning to get me up to speed on the math needed to understand and design transient perfect crossovers? I will go active, having plenty of quality amplifiers. In the past I just plugged the equations Linkwitz provided into a spreadsheet. Once you get into imaginary numbers my ability to create a spreadsheet formula gets left behind.

My main problem is I don't know where to start learning. Thanks in advance for your help.
  • cjd
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Dec 2004

Please don't take this as gospel as I may be quite wrong here.

I think the math is the same, the target is the key.

Without physical time alignment, it requires induced delay to keep a zero degree phase (or so) across the board. It should be trivial to do with a digital crossover, but it means everything is delayed to the "slowest" signal.
    diVine Sound - my DIY speaker designs at diVine Audio

Comment

• BobEllis
      Super Senior Member
      • Dec 2005