X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ssare
    • Feb 2012

Recommend me a build

Hi all,

I've been a little dissatisfied with my home theatre setup for a while and recently stumbled across your forum. It never even crossed my mind before, but I think it would be great to build a set of speakers that I could be proud of.

I'm extremely new to the higher end of home audio, and hoping you knowledgeable people could recommend a build for me. I'm looking for a 5 speaker setup (will probably just continue to use my current Subwoofer). I'd also like to keep my current receiver. I know it may not be the best, but it's what I have. Here's what I'm dealing with.

Receiver:
    Pioneer VSX 1020k
    Power Output Per Channel(20Hz-20kHz,.08%THD@8ohm) 80
    Power Output Per Channel (1kHz@8ohm) 110
    Power Output Per Channel (1kHz@6ohm) 125
    I'm hoping that's enough to give you an idea of what it can do.

Room:
    My room is 28x14, and I have it set up sideways, so the distance from centre channel to my ears is probably 11-12 ft, walls on 3 sides, and the right side is open to the rest of the room. I've attached a pic for reference.

I know it's a lot for a new guy to ask, but I'd appreciate your help.

Thanks a ton!
    Steve
    Attached Files
  • johngalt47
    • Apr 2007

What is your budget?

Comment

• ssare
      • Feb 2012

Originally posted by johngalt47
      What is your budget?
      I'm thinking somewhere from 1000-1500 in components for the full set.

Comment

• rdrowley
        • Sep 2010

AviaTrix or TriTrix would be a great place to start.