X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • evorkahn
    • Sep 2011

Centersub

hey. I was looking around on partsexpress site and an idea come to me. what do you think about a subwoofer with 4x aura ns6 drivers powered by a Dayton Audio SA240 . will be used as a centersub. want to make it as cheap as possible.

can someone help me with an enclosure in 0.75 mdf and with 2 ports . would like to have it 10 inch high the rest dosent matter because the tv will be on top of the it.

sorry for my english. im just a diy rookie from europe
  • engr_dave
    • Dec 2005

With 55Hz Fs and 3.9mm xmax, these 6" drivers aren't going to go very deep as a subwoofer. Curt's "Stentorian" uses six of these per side in fairly large [sealed] boxes and still he had this comment:
    apparent f3 down at least into the 50's, with 40's still being audible. I still recommend using these with a subwoofer, but they shouldn't disappoint if you don't.

Comment

• JonP
      • Apr 2006

Just off the top of my head, you might look at one 12" Dayton SD315A-88, for about $10 more than the four Aura's... Not the most extreme sub in the world, but it's a 12" with low Fs and 7mm xmax for under $60. It'll make some decent bass, probably do a MUCH better job than the Aura's...

Give it a model...

Comment

• evorkahn
        • Sep 2011

12 inch is to big. im more looking for the midbass actually. find out that i can spend a lot more money on this and will go up in quality. what about two Dayton Audio RS225-4 and one port. still same size and amp i wrote in the first post. more intersting drivers now??

Comment

• BOBinGA
          • Mar 2009

evorkahn,