X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gravey45
    • Aug 2011

Sealed Statement Question

I am new to speaker DIY and have decided on building Jim Holts's sealed statement. I know the enclosure plans are on their site but I can't seem to find more info on the sealed variant. Such as the low end frequency response, insulation to use, and power handiling.
    I am ready to pull the trigger and order parts but would like to clear up some questions.

Thanks for any help.
  • Jim Holtz
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

Originally posted by gravey45
    I am new to speaker DIY and have decided on building Jim Holts's sealed statement. I know the enclosure plans are on their site but I can't seem to find more info on the sealed variant. Such as the low end frequency response, insulation to use, and power handling.
    I am ready to pull the trigger and order parts but would like to clear up some questions.

Thanks for any help.
    I'll see if I can answer your questions:

1. " low end frequency response"
    Sealed Statements are designed to be used with subs and have an F/3 of around 50 Hz.

2."insulation to use"
    Use exactly the same insulation material as the ported version. I recommend 2" foam or fiberglass for the woofer compartments and specify only 1" flat foam in the mid tunnels. Search is your friend for this question. There are many discussions of alternatives.

3. "power handling."

Power handling is a spec for cheap speakers. The better way to look at it is to calculate the maximum volume capability of the drivers (about 110 - 112 db) and then determine how much power it takes to get them there. Figure 100 watts minimum up to ???? depending on how loud you want to play them. There have been some that love SET amps and have used them successfully but at much lower volumes.

HTH

Jim
    Last edited by Jim Holtz; 08 August 2011, 09:47 Monday.

Comment

• gravey45
      • Aug 2011