X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • capww8
    • May 2011

New DIY project - comments welcomed

Well, this is my first attempt at DIY audio, and I think I may have chosen my project out of haste before I had done quite enough research. In any case, I'm going to attempt to make the best of my investment so far.

I stumbled across this project and purchased all of the indicated crossover components already, though I have not started cabinet construction or purchased the drivers:

Page 3: A DIY Audio 3-Way Hi-Vi Tower Loudspeaker Project single driver. The DIY Speaker Projects uses a 3-Way crossover and the inexpensive Hi-Vi F8 woofer, Hi-Vi F5 mid-bass and the Hi-Vi SD1.1A tweeter.

I'm going to build a rounded cabinet rather than the square, and have started drafting in autocad to verify correct dimensions before I start cutting. I did have a couple of quick questions.

I notice on this forum, the front baffle is frequently constructed as a removable piece. Why is this? I had assumed the following, but I don't know if I'm on the right track:

1) Allows the use of more exotic material or finishes for the front baffle
    2) Allows easier replacement or changes of drivers for future upgrades (saves having to reconstruct the entire cabinet if you decide to switch from 6 to 7 midwoofers for example).

Any other comments you may have would be well received. After a bit more research, I kind of regret heading down this particular road, I think the Khanspires are more in tune to my tastes, and seem to have been much more refined over the years.

I will post some in-room response when I'm finished... I have access to a good RTA, microphones, and proper tone generators.

Power for this will come from some monster JBL synthesis amps, preamp tbd.

Next project will be a pair of bookshelf monitors for my office, powered by a parasound hca-750a and an Anthem preamp. I'd gladly accept any rec's for this project (I'd like the x-over and transducers to land around $300).