Choosing an amp, attaching gain control and inputs.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • LastShadow
    • May 2011

Choosing an amp, attaching gain control and inputs.

First things first. This is my first post on htguide.com and I am incredibly happy to find a community that is so interested in DIY speakers. Thank you.

Unfortunately, I am new to the game. I have a good understanding of crossovers and am working on a speaker that will have an integrated amp. In order for this to work it will need to accept an RCA and have gain control. The problem is, I have no idea how to choose the right amp or where to integrate the aforementioned features. I am looking for an amp to accommodate 150 watts RMS. Also, can I use a sub amp? Why/Why not? I have a feeling this is a dumb question as they are probably designed to output a lower frequency range only.

LastShadow
  • Thooms
    • Aug 2009

Usually in this situation you'd use a preamp for gain control and the power amps in the speakers will have a fixed gain - that way you don't have to constantly adjust both speakers to have the same volume.

Sub amps usually have an active crossover built in, so you wouldn't get anything above (say) 150Hz out because it'd be trimmed off by the filter. I'm not sure if you can get full range plate amps - but you could always make your own

Presumably it's a full range speaker? If there's just one that would make a preamp relatively pointless - you could try a potentiometer (and a simple opamp buffer if required) on the input of the amp if you find an otherwise suitable amplifier which doesn't have gain control.
    Bianchi C2C Peerless XLS Sub

Comment

• LastShadow
      • May 2011

Yes it is just a single full range speaker for music playback. It should accommodate 33Hz and up.

Comment

• LastShadow
        • May 2011