X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gsindela
    • May 2011

New to DIY: need advice for severe size and placement limits

I also posted this in the AVS Forum, but would like to get as much information as possible. So, I thought I would post here as well.

I'm totally new to DIY. I've been into HiFi for about 20 years going back to high school. The pinnacle of my experience thus far was the purchase in the year 2000 of a system composed of the following:

1. ProAc Tablette monitors
    2. Naim Nait integrated amp
    3. Rega Planet CD player

Frankly, I thought that system was incredible. The resolution and overall reality was many levels over my first Denon/Infinity system.

Fast forward 10 years. A wife, two kids, a mortgage. I'm in the process of assembling my first respectable home theater system that currently consists of the following:

1. LG 60PK950 plasma
    2. Yamaha RX-660 AVR
    3. Sony BDP-550 Blu-ray player
    4. Energy CB-5 mini-monitors (1 pair) acting as LRC channels (3/4" tweeter, 4.5" midbass, 5.7 inch width)
    5. Axiom Audio di-pole surrounds
    6. Epik Legend sub

The issue is the Energy fronts (http://www.energy-speakers.com/na-en...cb-5-overview/). The system is in my family room, not a dedicated room. I have HUGE constraints from both the wife and the placement limitations. I have the fronts sitting sideways under the TV in the the TV cabinet. They are lying sideways because the space is only 5 7/8" wide. Hence my purchase of the CB-5s, which fit very nicely in that very small space.

The other issue is they are only about 6 inches off the ground. Clearly, this is far less than optimal. The TV with the stand is in the corner of the family room and therefore leaves no room for floorstanders or stand mounts on either side of the TV. The wife would also not be keen on wall mounts.

Basically, I want to get or build a speaker that will fit in the small space of the cabinet (5 7/8") with the highest fidelity possible.