X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pereze
    • May 2006

Just another Nat P

Well, I ordered most of the parts in December of 2007....how sad is that? I built a pair of Dayton III's and was very impressed, especially given my complete noobness. I am finally going to get started soon (maybe even tonight). Even with all the builds and information, I still have some questions.

My plan is to build the tower version. I would love to try a curved cabinet, but I am afraid the work involved will impede my progress and cause the project to take MUCH longer than needed. I have seen the drawings for the ~50L version with the down firing port and am leaning toward that. I have read about the Precision Port but there seems to be conflicting information on the port length compared to using PVC. (note: I only have Macs at home so I have not found a box software that would let me model this myself which is why I am asking). What length port given about 50L? I am not sure if I should just use PVC or get the Precision Port? Thoughts?

I will be using MDF for construction. I was planning on using 2 .5in pieces to make a 1in thick front baffle with .75in sides. I have read that some use 2 .75in pieces to make a 1.5in front baffle. Is that needed?

As far as the crossover, I have bought some of the parts already. I need to purchase the inductors and a few more caps. I was planning on ordering everything from Parts Express. I am using the Dayton Caps and Dayton resistors. I am planning on getting the Jantzen 15awg air core inductors. I could save a lot of money by getting the 18 or 20awg but wasn't sure what I am giving up. Is there a big difference? Ok, that may not be fair, but would the average Joe notice the difference?

I plan on lining the cabinet with foam. Again, I have read different reviews of different fabrics and foams. What would you recommend for the Foam?

Here's to hoping this doesn't take me a year to accomplish! :T

Thanks in Advance,
    Eric