X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Hopkinsstevea
    • Jan 2011

Jim Holtz's Statement Monitors using Baltic Birtch

Gentleman
    I just new on this forum and a complete Newbie when it comes to building speakers. I am however a serious woodworker with lots of tools at my disposal.I'm very interested in building Jim Holtz's Statement Monitors and would like to know if its possible to use Baltic Birtch for the boxes instead of MDF ? would there be any downside to using Baltic Birtch? The reason I ask is I'm very allergic to MDF dust and break out very bad when I come in contact with it.
    Anyway looks like a fun project and a great forum thanks for your time
  • 1Michael
    • Sep 2006

BB would work just fine, I have used it several times myself.
    Michael
    Chesapeake Va.

Comment

• AdelaaR
      • Dec 2010

I think MDF is denser and more absorbing than actual wood ... so it might make a difference.
      Not sure though ... I am a newbie myself.

Comment

• Bear
        Super Senior Member
        • Dec 2008

Originally posted by AdelaaR
        I think MDF is denser and more absorbing than actual wood ... so it might make a difference.
        Not sure though ... I am a newbie myself.
        The only real downside is the unit conversion. High-quality Baltic Birch is shipped in mixed-dimension quantities so you end-up with 60"x60" panel that's 18mm thick for the 0.75" nominal size. The half-inch thick panels are really only 12mm. A small but occasionally important difference.

Advantages:
        - Stiffer
        - Less brittle
        - Larger-sized dust particles
        - Fewer toxins
        - Better ability to hold a screw
        - Careful use of faces and joining and you can get by without veneering

Disadvantages:
        - Cost
        - Availability

Really, BB is the way to go unless you are springing for LBL or something more exotic.
        Welcome to Rivendell, Mr. Anderson.

Comment

• Hopkinsstevea
          • Jan 2011