X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • AdelaaR
    • Dec 2010

HUGE inductors :)

I work as a freelance technician for the Belgian telephone company and yesterday in one of the distribution centers I came across some HUGE inductors:

I put my hand right next to them to give you an impression of their size ... they are about 12 inches high and 4 wide.
    I never paid much atention to such things until I got interested in speakers and crossovers lately
  • servicetech
    • Sep 2007

Inductor or power transformer? Looks like a 230V 3 phase (one transformer for each phase).

Comment

• Bent
      Super Senior Member
      • Sep 2003

there's a terminal blocl on the top with terminals marked N, 230, 230, 230...

I suspect (and would bet) it's a dry-type transformer as well.

Comment

• ---k---
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Nov 2005

I wonder how much $$ you could get for copper scrap out of those?
        - Ryan

CJD Ochocinco! ND140/BC25SC06 MTM & TM
        CJD Khanspires - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS225 WMTMW
        CJD Khancenter - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS180 WTMW Center

Comment

• AdelaaR
          • Dec 2010

I must say I feel stupid for not looking at the plain obvious markings and color codes of the connectors on top.
          Obviously this is some kind of huge 3-phase transformer indeed.
          What is the difference between a transformer and an inductor anyway?
          They both are wound galvanized copper, right?

As for the $$ ... the thing weighed about 40 kilo's so that's not bad ... If I would I could steal millions worth of equipment at my employer, but I'd rather keep my job.

Comment

• stuofsci02
            Super Senior Member
            • Nov 2009

It is probably a line or load reactor... Infact I am quite sure of it.. But it is really basically a big three phase inductor...

I bet if you went to google and searched for load reactor images you would see something similar.
            Main System:
            B&W 801D