X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Saurav
    Super Senior Member
    • Dec 2004

LspCAD and enclosure design

A friend asked me to help him design enclosures for some HT speakers he plans to build (something I've never tried before ). He's chosen his drivers, and I thought this would be a good opportunity to see how this works in LspCAD. So I tried to follow the tutorial. I picked the BR template, add the source and ground, switched to 'simulate', entered the T/S parameters, used the wizard to get some values for box volume and port length / diameter. The calculated response looks reasonable.

Now comes the part I'm stuck at. Let's say I want to shoot for something like a B2 @ 80Hz, to work with a regular HT receiver. So I put that in as the target, check all the boxes I can find for the optimizer, start the optimizer, and... nothing happens. The optimizer just sits there. I see the box volume and port length bolded, so they should be set up right. Does the LspCAD optimizer not work with enclosures? I can play around with values by hand, of course, but at that point I might as well use something like Unibox.

So maybe that's what I should do, or am I missing something and LspCAD should be able to do this?
  • 5th element
    Supreme Being Moderator
    • Sep 2009

I cannot speak for LspCAD6 as I've only got 5.25, however the optimiser works fine with boxes. You just have to tell it what parameters it's allowed to fiddle with. Box size, stuffing, filter etc. But it sounds like you've got that sorted anyway.

From what I've read though, there is a button you can press to make 6 run as a 5.25 lookalike. Maybe you could try that?.
    What you screamin' for, every five minutes there's a bomb or something. I'm leavin' Bzzzzzzz!
    5th Element, otherwise known as Matt.
    Now with website. www.5een.co.uk Still under construction.

Comment

• Saurav
      Super Senior Member
      • Dec 2004