X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Olli
    • Apr 2010

What DIY project next?

Hi all,

I built myself a pair of DIY ProAc Response 2.5 clones last year. I am very happy with them, but I am always thinking about he next step when it comes to DIY

Are there any other similarly well documented speaker projects out there which will yield superior sonic results? I am most interested in floorstanders and I love my bass. An element of style/subtlety (in the same way these ProAcs are quite slender, thus pleasing on the eye) would be awesome, but perhaps not 100% necessary

I notice that on these forums, a lot of people are designing speakers completely from scratch. As much as I would love to be able to do that, I have very little knowledge, so it would be a bit of a hit and miss thing most likely (unless I spend a LOT of time reading... But finding the time for that will probably be a longer term ambition).

Any advice/recommendations?

Cheers,
    Olli
  • Dean100
    • Jan 2007

Lots of documented projects here:http://www.htguide.com/forum/forumdisplay.php4?f=39

Comment

• ---k---
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Nov 2005

I had to google the ProArc 2.5 speakers. They appear to be a nice speaker with scanspeak drivers - so high end.

I think for us to provide you with good recommendations, we need to know your budget. That is the best place to start.

If your reference point is scanspeak drivers, I think you're going to want to be in the range of JonMarsh's Ardents or Modula Extreme - which I'm not sure is fully published yet.

There are other designs out there that use the higher end drivers. I'm just not that familiar with them. Most stuff I pay attention to is in that midrange or budget category. Check out Jed's Clearwave Audio. I think he has some designs that may fit the build.
      - Ryan

CJD Ochocinco! ND140/BC25SC06 MTM & TM
      CJD Khanspires - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS225 WMTMW
      CJD Khancenter - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS180 WTMW Center

Comment